State Extension Advisory Council Business Meeting Minutes

February 28, 2024
Embassy Suites – Newtown Pike
Lexington, Kentucky

The meeting was called to order by President Karen Hill at 2:41 pm EST.

Karen asked Terry Cauley, Secretary, to share the minutes of the meeting from Summer of 2023. Terry said the minutes were sent via e-mail and a copy, on blue paper, is in your packet. Please take a few minutes to review. Karen asked if any council members had any additions or corrections. With none noted, the minutes were approved as written.

Karen recognized the new delegates who are attending their first meeting in their 3year term. They are as follows:

- Jim Delk, East 1 Alternate Delegate from Clinton County.
- Victoria Faoro, Central 2 Delegate from Madison County
- Sharon Fields, East 8 Delegate from Greenup County
- Doug Hall, West 2 Delegate from Marshall County
- Steve Hatfield, West 5 Delegate from McLean County
- Kevin Hocker, Kentucky State University Delegate from Madison County
- Wendy Hood, Central 3 Delegate for Mercer County
- Jessica Lopez, Kentucky State University Delegate from Franklin County
- Ashley Phipps, East 5 Delegate from Wolfe County
- Chris Tyson Renshaw, West 3 Delegate from Christian County
- Kimberly Shackleford, Kentucky State University Delegate from Laurel County
- Chris Thomas, Kentucky State University Delegate from Taylor County
- Dale Vincent, Central 6 Delegate from Trimble County
- Jerry Walker, East 6 Delegate from Pike County

Karen said next on the agenda was the appointment of 2024 committees. Committees play an important role in the function of our council. We have two committees with members continuing from last year.

- Our Bylaws Committee considers any needed updates to our governing document and brings changes before the council for consideration. This committee is chaired by Jeff Zinner with continuing members including Linda Thomas and Tim Goodin. Karen asked for two additional volunteers to join this committee. If anyone is interested, please talk with her.
- Our Council Engagement Committee works with UK and KSU to plan webinars to
 provide us with additional information and updates between our two in-person
 meetings. Becky Utz is a continuing member of this committee and has agreed to
 serve as chair this year. Additional members continuing are Vicky Greenwell,
 Kevin Kenady and Barbra Ledford. We would like two additional volunteers.

• At the Summer meeting we will be electing new council officers on a rotation to serve a 3-year term, January 1, 2025, to December 31, 2028. Gary Ford has agreed to chair the nominating committee. We need 2 additional delegates to join this committee.

Karen asked if there was any new business to bring before the delegates today and there was none.

Karen encouraged all delegates to promote the Randall Barnett Outstanding Council Extension Council award in their county and the counties in their area. The award annually recognizes one outstanding extension council and is awarded a \$500.00 cash award. Our 2023 winner was Knott County for their work with flood response and recovery from the floods of Summer 2022.

Our next in-person meeting will be at Kentucky State University on July 25. The RSVP request, and directions to the farm, will be sent out 6-8 weeks prior to the meeting.

Karen asked if there were any additional announcements. There was none and the meeting adjourned at 2:54 p.m.

Submitted by Terry Cauley, Secretary